Skip to Content

Klobuchar, Franken, Peterson, Walz, Nolan Announce Disaster Declaration for Minnesota Farmers Affected by Animal Feed Shortage

Announcement comes after members urged the Administration to issue a disaster declaration earlier this week

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken and Representatives Collin Peterson, Tim Walz, and Rick Nolan today announced that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has approved a federal disaster declaration to provide assistance for Minnesota farmers hurt by the shortage of animal feed. The announcement comes after the members urged the Department to issue a disaster declaration in a letter earlier this week. Last year's drought, along with this year's late spring and heavy rains have led to exceptional losses to the alfalfa crop that Minnesota dairy and cattle producers rely on as a high-protein animal feed.

"The recent cases of extreme weather and resulting feed shortages have hurt too many farmers and ranchers throughout Minnesota," Klobuchar said. "This support will help dairy and cattle producers get through these challenging times and ensure our rural economies remain strong."

"Minnesota's livestock producers have a hard job, and that's without having to worry about feed shortages threatening their livelihoods," Franken said. "While I have pressed USDA for more robust relief, this will offer some help to producers whose operations are taking serious hits. This assistance is important for Minnesota and our ag industry."

"This disaster declaration is welcome news and will provide our farmers and ranchers with at least some measure of relief," said Walz. "While I'm pleased the USDA issued this declaration, there is more work to be done to fully address the feed shortage and give farmers the flexibility they need to continue to provide the world with a safe, abundant supply of food. I will continue to urge the USDA to take steps to address our ongoing feed shortage."

"This declaration provides our hard hit farmers and rural communities with some sense of certainty as they recover from these tough, weather-related shortages," Nolan said.

The declaration designates Carver, Dakota, Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Jackson, Le Sueur, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Rock, Scott, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, Washington, and Winona counties as primary disaster counties. Anoka, Blue Earth, Chisago, Cottonwood, Hennepin, McLeod, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pipestone, Ramsey, Sibley, Watonwan, and Wright counties were designated contiguous disaster counties. The declaration makes producers in these counties eligible for emergency loan assistance to help address crop losses and high feed costs.

Last month, the members sent a letter to the Department urging them to grant an emergency exemption to the November 1st restriction that would allow farmers to harvest a second crop or graze livestock on forages on prevent plant acres without penalty. In addition, the members requested emergency authorizations to allow for additional livestock grazing on Conservation Reserve Program and Wetlands Reserve Program acres and assistance for producers to plant high forage value cover crops.


Duluth Office
515 W 1st St
Suite 104
Duluth, MN 55802
(218) 722-2390

Moorhead Office
819 Center Avenue
Suite 2A
Moorhead, MN 56560
(218) 284-8721

Rochester Office
1202-1/2 7th Street NW
Suite 213
Rochester, MN 55901
(507) 288-2003

Saint Paul Office
60 Plato Blvd. East
Suite 220
Saint Paul, MN 55107
(651) 221-1016

Official Web Site of Sen. Al Franken
Text Only   |   Privacy Policy   |   Contact